Central Leinster


You are viewing an older version of the Yalebooks website. Please visit out new website with more updated information and a better user experience: https://www.yalebooks.com

Kildare, Laois and Offaly

Andrew Tierney

View Inside Format: Hardcover
Price: $85.00
Our shopping cart only supports Mozilla Firefox. Please ensure you're using that browser before attempting to purchase.

The comprehensive guide to the architecture of the heart of Ireland, closely examining a broad range of works, from castles and churches to grand neoclassical country houses.

This comprehensive guide covers the historically rich and nuanced territory of Central Leinster, from the western borderlands of the medieval English Pale to the wild expanse of the Bog of Allen and further west to Clonmacnoise, cradle of early monasticism, with its Hiberno-Romanesque ruins, sculpted crosses, and elegant round towers. The Palladian mansions of Kildare and the romantic castles of Offaly stand within ancient forests, and Neoclassicism flourished with grand houses by James Wyatt at Abbey Leix, by James Gordon at Emo, and by the Morrisons at Ballyfin. Georgian streetscape finds its best expressions in Mountmellick and Maynooth. Disestablishment spurred the re-entrenchment of Irish Protestant architecture, notably in James Franklin Fuller’s fusions of Continental and Hiberno-Romanesque styles at Rathdaire, Millicent, and Carnalway, with their rich carving, decoration, and stained glass.

Andrew Tierney is a researcher in architectural history at Trinity College, Dublin.

"[T]his excellent volume...covers three counties, Kildare, Laois and Offaly, all on the western borderlands of the medieval English pale of settlement."—Simon Heffer, The Daily Telegraph

Shortlisted for the 2020 Colvin Prize by the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain
ISBN: 9780300232042
Publication Date: October 8, 2019
784 pages, 4 1/2 x 8 1/2
127 color + 80 b/w illus.
Pevsner Architectural Guides: Buildings of Ireland

The City Within the Grand and Royal Canals and the Circular Road, with the Phoenix Park

Christine Casey

View details
North West Ulster

The Counties of Londonderry, Donegal, Fermanagh and Tyrone

Alistair Rowan

View details
South Ulster

Armagh, Cavan, and Monaghan

Kevin Mulligan

View details