Unaccompanied Bach


You are viewing an older version of the Yalebooks website. Please visit out new website with more updated information and a better user experience: https://www.yalebooks.com

Performing the Solo Works

David Ledbetter

View Inside Format: Paper
Price: $37.00
Our shopping cart only supports Mozilla Firefox. Please ensure you're using that browser before attempting to purchase.

Also Available in:

This pioneering book by an acclaimed expert is the first to discuss all of Bach’s unaccompanied pieces in one volume, including an examination of crucial issues of style and composition type and the options open to interpretation and performance. David Ledbetter, a leading expert on Bach, provides the historical background to Bach’s instrumental works, as well as detailed commentaries on each work.

Ledbetter argues that Bach’s unaccompanied works—the six suites for solo cello, six sonatas and partitas for solo violin, seven works for lute, and the suite for solo flute—should be considered together to enable one piece to elucidate another. This illuminating and significant book is essential for professionals, performers, students, or anybody who wishes to learn more about Bach’s music.

David Ledbetter is Associate Research Fellow at the Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester. He is the author of Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier: The 48 Preludes and Fugues.

“The thorough introduction which this book gives to each of Bach’s solo works is an essential addition to the bookshelves of aspiring or already established solo performers.”

--Andrew Hill, Stringendo

'Ledbetter is to be congratulated on producing such a stimulating, insightful, rounded and readable book.' — RS, Classical Music

'At last, it is here: a book for Bach-loving string players…Ledbetter has provided an abundance of material to serve as the basis for every musical and technical decision and to enrich any Bach performance. Bravo!' — Andrew Manze, The Strad

"Undoubtedly… the most informative guide available."—John Butt, Music and Letters

Selected as a Choice Outstanding Academic Title for 2010 in the Music category
ISBN: 9780300253863
Publication Date: November 27, 2019
360 pages, 6 1/8 x 9 1/4
Bach's Well-tempered Clavier

The 48 Preludes and Fugues

David Ledbetter

View details