Shostakovich's Preludes and Fugues


You are viewing an older version of the Yalebooks website. Please visit out new website with more updated information and a better user experience:

Contexts, Style, Performance

Mark Mazullo

View Inside Format: Cloth
Price: $75.00
Our shopping cart only supports Mozilla Firefox. Please ensure you're using that browser before attempting to purchase.

Also Available in:

This is the first book-length study of Shostakovich’s Twenty-Four Preludes and Fugues for piano, Opus 87. Mark Mazullo explains the cultural context in which Shostakovich composed, relates the cycle to piano works (by Bach, Hindemith, and others), and offers individual commentaries on each of the Preludes and Fugues.

Mark Mazullo is Associate Professor and Chair of the Music Department at Macalester College.

"Mazullo knows how to empower a performer’s analytical and imaginative drive. [...He] brings the music to life as a veritable carnival of expression, and gives listeners and performers the means to sample, test, question, connect, refine, judge, and endlessly reconsider all the kinds of expression that the work offers.  What a joy this is!" —James Parakilas, Bates College

"An outstanding piece of work—illuminating, attractively written [...and] stimulating. It is a book that will be welcomed by scholars of Russian music, readers interested in the cultural life of the Soviet Union, and interested listeners to a remarkable body of repertory."—Michael Steinberg

“Mazullo’s labour of love … is an unusually broad, liberal and, indeed, inspiring piece of work that deserves to be acquired by all libraries with music collections.”—Arnold McMillin, Slavonic & East European Review, Vol. 89, No. 3

“Written with great style and flair . . . a compelling and cogent case for the art of Shostakovich.”—John Rego, Notes

"Clear and convincing . . . there is much information articulated here that is useful for most readers who are interested in tackling the mysterious puzzle of Shostakovich's style."—Kori Bond, Clavier Companion
ISBN: 9780300149432
Publication Date: June 22, 2010
304 pages, 6 1/8 x 9 1/4
94 music ex., 2 illus.